For years now I’ve been trying to get to using a planner/journal/diary/something (anything) that could help me keep track of my everyday chores and things to do, along with thoughts, goal keeping and what-nots. Every year I set out to buy the most beautiful journal I could find, only to ditch it at the first month of use.My problem was that most journals were made, well, by someone else other than me. For the past couple of years I even thought that I should publish my own journal, so it could be exactly how I wanted it. But still, even this way, I could not predict which day I would need extra space for notes or doodles or planning.

I decided that it was an usolvable problem, until I bumbed onto an Instagram hashtag that read “#bujo” and accompanied a beautiful pic with a gorgeous two page spread adorned with stickers, doodles, and colored pens. Say what? How come I did not know of this? I definitely need me some of that too, I thought, and on I went to the official Bullet Journal site. Now, be careful, cause once you start reading, you won’t stop until you ‘ve read everything on the site and the corresponding blog. You have been warned.

The first thing that got my attention, was the intro quote:

“The analog system for the digital age”

Well, don’t you just love it?  I love it so much, that I put it into Blockquote. Hm. Thing is, I really dig into the new technologies and stuff, but I also really, really like the physical paraphernalia-pens and notebooks, markers and stickers and so on. So. Perfect match for me.

The main thing about Bullet Journaling is that it is not (necessarily) a journal to buy . For me, it is first and foremost a system. The simplest system, but aren’t they the ones that are the most effective? Yes, they are. The man that devised the system is called Ryder Carroll, and he made sure that it is flexible and forgiving. And, you can start any time of the year with it! Each journal may last you anywhere from, I don’t know, say a day, to a year or more, depending on how you use it.

The genius aspect of this system for me is the index. And once more I beat myself: why didn’t I think of that? It is so simple, it actually is elementary. Number your pages as you go, and index them, so that everything is organised and handy.

There are so many more you can do with your journal, you can start by this introductory video and then, of course, make it your own!

There are also a lot of extraordinary ladies out there that are making wonders with their Bujos and organize challenges, give out printables and offer tutorials; They are brilliant. Here are a few of them:

I got my journal from Tiger (Tiger is a kind of a european, more scandinavian-design Target store) and it cost just €2. It is a simple black notebook with an elastic band, but it does not have bulleted pages, they are white. The paper could may be a little thicker so that pens don’t bleed (the ink does get through a bit), but it still is a good one to get started (I did not want to spend a lot of money until I’ve tried the system). After twenty days of use, I think it is safe to say that it works like a charm for me!

Here are a few of my pages so far (come on, you wanna see them, don’t you? I know like to poke my nose into other people’s journals!):

Bullet Journal ribbon bookmarks
My Tiger notebook had only one ribbon bookmark, but I managed to glue another one from an old journal. I glued felt hearts at the end of each one to prettify them. I use one of them for the index page and the other for the current date.

Note: there is, of course, a Bullet Journal to buy, and it is a wonderful Leuchtturm1917 (its pages are-you guessed it-bulleted). But it is not necessary for you to actually buy the Journal to follow the system: you can do it with any notebook you love (bulleted pages or not)! This journal is sold out at the moment (and for at least the past few weeks-it got to be a huge hit, apparently), and maybe I will give it a try someday. Till then, I’ll be making me own Bujo out of my ordinary humble and cheap notebook.

I am a complete novice when it comes to journaling, so I try to improve myself everyday. The trick for me is to not feel bad about the pages I spend (I have dozens of notebooks, still I am really stingy when it comes to actually using them), because they will make nice memorabilia in the future, and to keep it fairly simple, because the main purpose is get things done!

So, how do you journal? Is there any other systems out there that you like and use?

♥ Pelagie

